There and back again….

Standard

Not an original title, I grant you. But fairly true nonetheless. I have been here before. I have returned.

January’s always a funny time of year. It’s a time when people at work are saying no to cakes (highly unusual, doesn’t last) and when there are more runners on the streets as I drive home. It’s when all the adverts are about weight loss, debt reduction, and end-of-season furniture sales. A time to make resolutions and have, in the next breath, someone tell you that they don’t make them because nobody ever keeps to them – as though the possible failure is reason enough not to try. For me, January’s always a bit strange because it’s still very dark, cold and rainy – not the weather anyone would want to start running in if you ask me! Work-wise, it’s busy with exams and so on, and personally just winding back up again from the Christmas holiday.

November/December kind of vanished into a blur on the blog for several reasons. Work went a bit haywire – it always does in the autumn, with extra marking, working classes a bit harder, everyone gets more fraught towards Christmas and needs a bit more of a push.

Personally, it’s been incredibly exciting – I got engaged at the beginning of November, and the next six weeks disappeared in a glowy haze when any time I didn’t spend working was spent musing on pinterest and looking Rock My Wedding, Boho Bride and the awesome Offbeat Bride. I am very happily affianced (and use that word whenever possible to describe myself!) and am really enjoying looking around at ideas, thinking, pre-planning and hoping to rediscover some love of crafting that I haven’t really done for a while now. It also turns out that I’m a little more into the whole wedding planning process than I thought I would be – I think it’s my immense love of organising! We’re also still looking for a house, and obviously Christmas/New Year is nearly three weeks of full-on stuff.

But – all that has really hammered my writing over the past couple of months, and I’ve not really got as much done as I would have liked to, and now everything’s settling into a little more normality, work’s easing off slightly, it seems a good time to reflect and review where I was last year and where I want to be this year.

Don't Give Up

Jim Rohn, I think, suggests doing this much more often than annually. I think he suggests spending a weekend a month reviewing your goals and resetting them because everything drifts by degrees. The analogy he uses is going to the moon – it’s such a far-off target that if your aim is off by just a few degrees, you miss it by miles. So, every once in a while, you check your course. Check why you went off track and fix it. Make the adjustments that you need to. Reinvigorate your ideals. Over the next couple of posts, I’m going to do just that – think about what happened, where I went wrong – and right – and what I need to do to keep that progress going.

 

 

Leave a Reply

